Clear mind

After a week of being France my psych is finally feeling recharged.  I’ve lost track of the days, enjoyed cafe au lait on the porch every morning, climbed on rock, laughed a lot, and have had plenty of time to relax so why wouldn’t I feel recharged?!  I’m extremely grateful to have this opportunity for many reasons.

Francescene

 

I’ve always been really psyched to train inside, compete, and climb outside when time permitted.  This year has been different though.  My motivation for competition was lacking, although I competed anyway, and therefore my drive to train for hours and hours inside really was close to nonexistent.  This might be the first time this has happened to me, and it kind of threw me for a loop.  The easy solution would have been just to go rock climbing, but the time for me to do so what pretty limited.

In January I decided to return back to school to take pre-requisites for graduate school.  I was REALLY excited to return, since it had been 3 years since I graduated from undergrad and I felt like my brain was kind of wasting away.  I didn’t think taking pre-requisites was going to be very hard or too time consuming, but I was quickly reminded how tough school actually is.  Especially if the goal is to make straight A’s.  Therefore I didn’t have much time to go climbing outside during the week….I felt that if I were rock climbing I probably should be studying….

I even had limited time to spend in the gym.  And in that limited time, I just kept dreaming of being outside so often times I would skip a training day just to go on a run outside on the trails.

Thankfully school is done for the semester, and now I’m in France with no other goal/objectives than to rock climb.  My heart is happy, and I can finally think clearly about my personal stand on what I want to do with climbing in the future.  I’m not convinced that I will stumble across my desire to compete at all next year.  And if I don’t, then I think that’s ok.  I have yet to really push my limits on the rock, and the memories I will create doing that will most likely be deeper than the memories of any given competition.

IMG_6389 copy

 

Leave a Reply

