ABS 14 National Championships

The 14th ABS Open National Championship have come and gone.  It was a great event, as always, but as always, I left feeling slightly disappointed in my performance.

It’s been my goal, for the last 3 years, to qualify for the final round at this competition.  And each time, I miss it.  I thought that maybe it was because I put too much emphasis on caring about the final result, which can often kill a persons ‘mojo’ in competition.  So, this year I tried hard not to put emphasis on the final result.  I just wanted to compete with a smart head and brave heart.  Unfortunately, that too was not enough for me to get into finals.  This struggle is a difficult one for me because I truly believe that I am strong enough to hang with those who regularly make finals.  I feel as though I train just as hard, if not harder, prior to the event, but when the time comes to perform as such I seem to fall short.

This year was no different.  And I don’t have any excuse other than I failed to turn it on on problem #2 and 4 in semi finals.  Boulder #2 started on slopey white volumes that were difficult to hold onto (for me).  Frankly, I know I could have done those moves quicker in order to get higher on the problem, but I didn’t.  I didn’t get pissed enough until the last 30 seconds, and by that time it was a bit too late.  And then problem #4…I’m still just as clueless.  It was a slab, and normally I don’t have problem with slabs, so this came to surprise me.  I literally just didn’t know what to do or how to get up this boulder.  I guess you could say, stumped!

But that is how competition goes…on any given day, it can be anyone’s game.  While I am disappointed in my performance (because I know that I’m stronger than I performed), I am still trying to view it with the glass half full outlook.  After all, placing 12th is my personal best at a bouldering national championship.  Congratulations to the top 3 females and males this weekend: Alex Puccio, Andrea Szekely, Isabelle Faus; Daniel Woods, Ian Dory, and Vasya Vorotnikov. For full results and highlights (coming soon) visit www.absnationals.org.

Next competition for me is SCS Open National Championships here in Boulder, CO on April 5 & 6.

Photos coming soon 🙂

4 responses to “ABS 14 National Championships

  1. Chelsea, great job on your best finish ever. I know how hard you train as I know how that you have worked with Dave Wahl in the past. I look forward to seeing you do well in the comps because I like to see those who have focused so hard perform at their best. I would like to talk with you about your strategy and over all training sometime. I think that you have not yet reached your full potential indoor, outdoor or within the competition scene!
    piz : ) pizem@hotmail.com

    • Thank you! I feel like I haven’t reached my potential and it’s so frustrating since yet again I miss finals in bouldering. Ugh! Anyway, lets talk! I’d love to see what you think and see if you have any suggestions 🙂

  2. I always thought this is my story alone. For last four years i have put every ounce of energy to be Indian national bouldering champion. in every semifinal i am at top but the story reverses in finals. i can understand the feeling of not performing upto the level. not satisfied with your own performance ,when you know u could have done much better.
    i admire your courage that you never give up. i have not given up too. all i can say is that everything would be perfect and then all this hard work will pay off. life always pays ur hard work in some way .
    wish you best of luck for future.
    Sandeep

    • Hey there!

      Thanks for your comment. It is hard not performing up to level in which you know you can perform, but none of it would be worth it if it weren’t a challenge. We all have something to learn from these moments. As my dad says, ” find the positive in all things.”

      I wish you the best of luck in the future! Keep trying!

      Best,
      Chelsea

Leave a Reply

