The End of 2012

I feel like I should have written this yesterday since it was actually the end of 2012, but its better late than never, right?

Anyway the last couple weeks of 2012 was filled with training and traveling to visit my dad in Alaska.  Unfortunately my training for climbing hasn’t been exactly what I’d hope for when I have big competitions coming up.  But sometimes life requires/forces (due to travel) climbing to take the back seat and I’m learning to be OK with that…especially in light of the holiday season.  Regardless, I’m back at it this week….

Traveling to Alaska was eventful.  My dad has lived in Alaska for about 5 years and I’ve only been there once (prior to this trip).  The reason is mostly because I am busy during the summer months and, until this year, I refused to go during the winter months for self explanatory reasons.  BUT I sucked it up this year.  In fact, Alaska wasn’t quite as bad in the winter as I imagined.  I was imagining 3 hours of daylight and according to the weather the week before I arrived, I thought it was going to be single digits during the day and in the negatives at night.  Both of my assumptions were wrong, thankfully.

Beautiful Alaskan sunrise.  We had about 5.5 hours of daylight so we had to take advantage!

Beautiful Alaskan sunrise. We had about 5.5 hours of daylight so we had to take advantage!

My flight into Anchorage was more eventful than I would typically like due to engine and landing gear failure after already being in flight for 1.5 hours.  We had to make an emergency landing in Juneau.  I’m happy to be able to write this blog right now as this was the single most scariest moment of my life.  I, along with everyone else on that flight, was sure we were going to die.  That will make you look at life a little differently…

I finally arrived in Anchorage the day after the plane chaos.  I was happy to get off the plane and see my dad.  Alaska was a trip full of adventure-skiing at Alyeska, coaching the youth team at the Alaska Rock Gym, flying with my dad in a little Cessna, and partaking in his office Christmas party what was a 1920’s mystery dinner.  Photos below…

Alyeska skiing conditions were not what I was expecting.  Due to the mild temperatures (high 30's) it was actually raining at lower elevations.  Regardless the snow was deep and fun to glide through!

Alyeska skiing conditions were not what I was expecting. Due to the mild temperatures (high 30’s) it was actually raining at lower elevations. Regardless the snow was deep and fun to glide through!

Skiing Alyeska.  Although the visibility wasn't the best, you can just barely see the ocean far left in the distance.  This is the only (?) ski resort next to the ocean!

Skiing Alyeska. Although the visibility wasn’t the best, you can just barely see the ocean far left in the distance. This is the only (?) ski resort next to the ocean!

You can't tell it's dark in this photo, but it is.  Skiing in rain and by artificial light!

You can’t tell it’s dark in this photo, but it is. Skiing in rain and by artificial light!

The coaches at Alaska Rock Gym and I after practice.  It was an honor to coach with them as they have extremely motivated athletes who are preparing to compete in the ABS 14 Divisional Championship this month.  Good luck to all of them!

The coaches at Alaska Rock Gym and I after practice. It was an honor to coach with them as they have extremely motivated athletes who are preparing to compete in the ABS 14 Divisional Championship this month. Good luck to all of them!

This is my dads little Cessna.  I haven't flown with him being my pilot since I can remember so this was something I was looking forward to do with him regardless of my plane accident on the way to anchorage. [/caption]
This is my dads little Cessna. I haven’t flown with him being my pilot since I can remember so this was something I was looking forward to do with him regardless of my plane accident on the way to anchorage.
Front seat in the Cessna

Front seat in the Cessna

Happy faces before we took off

Happy faces before we took off

I shot a lot of photos within the mere 10-15 minutes up in the air.  I think I did it out of nervousness as the turbulence was so bad that our heads hit the roof a couple times.  Nausea hit and frankly I was terrified.  And I think my dad was too.  So we bailed...
I shot a lot of photos within the mere 10-15 minutes up in the air. I think I did it out of nervousness as the turbulence was so bad that our heads hit the roof a couple times. Nausea hit and frankly I was terrified. And I think my dad was too. So we bailed…
More photos from the airMore photos from the air

image

I snuck this photo in....my dad told me to lose the camera so we could focus while trying to turn around to land

I snuck this photo in….my dad told me to lose the camera so we could focus while trying to turn around to land

Run way up ahead!  Dad gave the best landing I've ever experienced

Run way up ahead! Dad gave the best landing I’ve ever experienced

Dad and I dressed up all 1920's like ready for the mystery dinner.  I ended up winning a Starbucks mug and a $25 gift cert!

Dad and I dressed up all 1920’s like ready for the mystery dinner. I ended up winning a Starbucks mug and a $25 gift cert!

Friends reunited for an impromptu breakfast in Seattle during my layover back to Denver

Friends reunited for an impromptu breakfast in Seattle during my layover back to Denver

Leave a Reply

