Back at it…

I’ve spent nearly a month with basically no climbing, which was much needed, but I’m ready to get back to it.  I have a couple major competitions on my radar…first the ABS 14 National Championships, which is only 9.5 weeks away and the SCS Open National Championships about a month later.

I’ll consider yesterday as my first official training day…it’s hard getting back in the groove especially since my overall coordination and strength on plastic is off.  I suppose that happens after only climbing on rock for two months and then taking nearly a complete full month off, huh?  Regardless, it’s fun coming back.  It’s fun shaking and struggling…as long as it doesn’t last too long 😉

training

Today, I was training in the gym and someone asked me if I ever climb for fun.  This question really hit me hard because in my mind, I am always climbing for fun.  I wouldn’t climb if I didn’t find it enjoyable.  I wouldn’t train and put myself through confidence breakdown by indulging in my weaknesses if I didn’t find some enjoyment out of it.  Sure, I may cry at times, I may get frustrated, I may become down and feel lost, but always in the end I enjoy the process.  I enjoy it because it teaches me a lot about myself and I believe it makes me a stronger person in this world.  Training is fun.  Pushing my limits is fun.  Struggling is fun.  I bring this up because I’m in the process of figuring out exactly what I want from my competition experiences this year.  I’m unsure of what my goals are as far as results go, but after thinking about this question that was asked of me today, I can say that one of my goals from this training/competition season is to grow.  To become mentally stronger.  To do this with grace and a smile on my face regardless of the final outcome.  To really appreciate the amount of effort I put into this sport because I dearly love it…it’s changed my life and made me who I am today.  So, I will remember when I’m frustrated (because lets be real, it’s almost impossible to avoid frustration) that I find it fun to push myself.  I find it fun to work hard.  It is extremely rewarding and this year, I strive to focus on that…on the journey.  Because we learn and grow in uncomfortable situations so when I’m sweating, bleeding, crying and just pure exhausted, I will remember I am making myself a stronger person, physically, emotionally, and mentally.

Here’s a short video created by Dave Wahl in 2011…

 

2 responses to “Back at it…

  1. Nice report. It’s weird sometimes to try to figure out why you do stuff when part of it is habit, part of it is personal goals and part of it is that you don’t know what else to do. It seems like you have figured it out. Good luck with your goals.

  2. Your post has excellent timing for me. I’m in the process of taking a 2-week break so am going through all the questions (minus those regarding competitions) as I reflect on my season at the Red and prepare myself for a season at Hueco. I appreciate your honest approach to finding where your motivation lies, and am kind of comforted in finding that someone who climbs much, much stronger than me deals with some of the same issues. Hope next year is your best one in climbing thus far!

Leave a Reply

