Grace

Welp, SCS Nationals are a wrap (and have been for slightly over a week now).  It took me some time to write this post partly because of my disappointment surrounding the competition and partly due to the fact that there were 100 other things needing to be prioritized.

Some of you already know, from being personal witnesses, that I train a lot.  I get very tunnel visioned when it comes to me attempting to accomplish a goal that I set for myself.  I will choose  to train on plastic rather than rock to prepare me for competition.  I wake up at 5:30am so I can get to the gym by 6:30 and begin my work out (thanks to all those lovely people who are psyched to do that with me).  I do conditioning with Dave Wahl right before I need to coach.  I’m running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off going from training, school, conditioning, coaching, eat and sleep.  It’s quite the schedule, but I choose it and therefore a part of me enjoys it even when my motivation is rather low.

Caroline Treadway photo

That is a glimpse of the schedule I’ve been living for the last couple of years and here’s how it went down:  First, it began by uprooting my previous climbing style, which was VERY static and slow and simply not congruent with today’s setting standards for competition, to creating someone who is more dynamic and faster paced.  My current climbing style is attributed to the help of Kynan Waggoner.  Seriously, without his help I’d probably still not know how to jump.  After this long process, I decided I wanted to get back into competing and I started with the 2010 SCS National Championships.  That comp was quickly followed up by the 2011 ABS National Championships, 2011 SCS National Championships, 2011 IFSC Bouldering World Cup in Vail, 2011 IFSC Lead World Cup in Boulder, 2012 ABS National Championship and most recently by the 2012 SCS National Championships.   I’ve had perhaps a week of complete rest between each of these events.  And to get to the point, I’m feeling rather burned out on plastic.

The SCS National Championships ended as a disappointment due to scoring shenanigans, but I’d like to gracefully see past it and look at the bright side: I qualified for the US Team and have the World Championships in Paris and the World Cup in Atlanta to look forward to.  The lesson that I learned, again, is that no matter how hard you work for something, it does not guarantee that you will reach your goal.  Some days just don’t work out the way you hope, so the only thing you can do it get back up and try again.  That’s the thing about competition, you can be dealt any sorta hand-and it’s how you deal with it that makes you a champion.  Congratulations to Sasha Digiulian, Delaney Miller and Michaela Keirsch for their great performances.

Caroline Treadway photo

For the highlight real, check out this link: http://vimeo.com/40050096

So what’s next?  Well, as I said before, I’m feeling quite burnt out on training indoors.  I am competing in the 2012 IFSC Bouldering World Cup in Vail during the Summer Teva Games at the beginning of June, but I think I’m going to go into that competition a little more relaxed than I have in the past with other competitions.  The fact of the matter is that I need to climb outside and take a break from breaking my body down on plastic.  I really want to take advantage of my fitness and strength and apply it outside, where it really matters.  I’d love to send more 5.13’s and 5.14’s and there’s an infinite amount of rock that I haven’t even touched in the Colorado area.  I was recently able to get out to Clear Creek, near Golden, Colorado, and send Sonic Youth (5.13a) on my second go, Sweet Inspirations (5.13c) on my 4th go (by the way, I just love that name…Sweet Inspirations) and Public Enemy (5.13c or d?).

Rob Frost photo

I look forward to continuing to climb outside and see what I can do 🙂

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

